Wednesday, March 12, 2014

States for Same-Sex Marriage

Same-sex marriage is currently the biggest issue facing the LGBTQ community.  The controversy has been debated recently over the years; however, several countries have opted out of the discussion.  In the United States of America, some states have legalized same-sex marriage.  These places are considered to be the best setting for gay partners who want to get hitched.

The following states have legalized same-sex marriage:

By Court Decision
California, Connecticut, Iowa, Massachusetts, New Jersey and New Mexico.

By State Legislature
Delaware, Hawaii, Illinois, Minnesota, New Hampshire, Rhode Island and Vermont.

By Popular Vote
Maine, Maryland and Washington.

To date, several European Union countries, and also New Zealand, have legalized marriage equality too. LGBTQ activist organizations and their supporters around the world have considered the redefinition of marriage in these countries as an example for change in the marriage laws of their respective countries. However, even though there are pieces of evidence that support such request, most of the governments do not give favorable verdict to this case.

Additional: Pending for Approval

Utah, Oklahoma, Kentucky, Virginia and Texas.

other references:
States Have Legal Same-Sex Marriage

Same-sex marriage in the United States

No comments:

Post a Comment